Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 26.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 26.99%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (6) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 22, 2019
Penalties for paying off
Dalyn18 Cardholder

Citibank has a practice of reducing your credit line if you make large payments. The only other bank I see do this on occasion is Discover. If your intention is to pay down debt this card isn't for you. The reduced credit will impact your score.

more ...
Jul 03, 2019

Credit Card companies will only reduce the credit limit if you start to display risky behavior on your credit usage which is reported on credit scores. Additionally, a letter is always sent to let you to let you know of their actions and ways to appeal it.

 
Jul 05, 2019

These companies like a few other do monthly credit checks the Hedge their risk so if your credit utilization goes up they might see that as a risk and then they were already planning to lower your credit line once your balance got a blow a certain amount it's not that you paid a large amount

 
Mar 09, 2019
Bad website
Tonypark Cardholder

Very frustrating website and customer service. Do not use citi bank.

more ...
Feb 16, 2019
Low starting limit with a 754 score.
theheat71 Cardholder

Last time I checked 750 was a EXCELLENT score and based on the forums I've heard the same thing people with stellar credit getting lowballed. Why not just do like crapitalone and give everyone $300....SMH.

more ...
Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 05, 2019

These companies like a few other do monthly credit checks the Hedge their risk so if your credit utilization goes up they might see that as a risk and then they were already planning to lower your credit line once your balance got a blow a certain amount it's not that you paid a large amount

 
Nov 08, 2018
Somewhat usefull for intial promo rate
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Good only for the initial promo rate, after that trash this card. Zero rewards, that so called Citibank Thankyou program is an insult. Interest rate is outragous. Balance transfers are never worth it. Don't even ask for a CL increase with perfect credit, it's an automatic decline.

more ...
Aug 07, 2018
Bait and switch
spanishguy1970 Cardholder

These card offers you o% interest for 18 months but good luck they will never do it again. I have great credit and this card has a 23% interest rate now, long gone are the days when you had great credit and low interest. I have called to receive better offers and their answer is always the same “ sorry we don’t have any offers now” is been two years. I use this card and pay it off in full. I have a better credit card, that i pay no international fees and i am always getting good balance transfer offers. Don’t fall for this card, do your homework there are better cards out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 26, 2018

It’s because you dont know how to use it lol. This card is great to put on big purchases and pay it off with no interest. I have used this card on multiple vacation trips. When the 0% apt time i just close it. And when i need the 0% apr again i open a new account. This card is not to be used as an everyday card.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card