Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (8) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 09, 2019
Bad website
Tonypark Cardholder

Very frustrating website and customer service. Do not use citi bank.

more ...
Feb 16, 2019
Low starting limit with a 754 score.
theheat71 Cardholder

Last time I checked 750 was a EXCELLENT score and based on the forums I've heard the same thing people with stellar credit getting lowballed. Why not just do like crapitalone and give everyone $300....SMH.

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
APR Hike Scheme
Aurora50 Cardholder

I had this card in the past and one day out of the blue Citi closed my account for some vague reason. I suspect that it was because I didn't use it very often. However, almost immediately Citi started emailing and snail mailing me offers to apply for the card, at a higher APR than I had previously. Yeah, so, the simplicity of this card must refer to Citi's business practices and the audacious way it is marketed to former cardholders.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 05, 2019

I agree with you. I had my Citi Simplicity card for almost 16 years - no late payment ever! I found out through my credit report that they closed my account. They did not mail or email me. When I called them they denied that it was closed. Then 2 months later there was a message on my app that the account is. Loser and I should go on the website and take off the link. Why would I feel in anyway compelled to reapply for a credit card with them when there are so many other options.

 
Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...
Nov 08, 2018
Somewhat usefull for intial promo rate
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Good only for the initial promo rate, after that trash this card. Zero rewards, that so called Citibank Thankyou program is an insult. Interest rate is outragous. Balance transfers are never worth it. Don't even ask for a CL increase with perfect credit, it's an automatic decline.

more ...
Aug 07, 2018
Bait and switch
spanishguy1970 Cardholder

These card offers you o% interest for 18 months but good luck they will never do it again. I have great credit and this card has a 23% interest rate now, long gone are the days when you had great credit and low interest. I have called to receive better offers and their answer is always the same “ sorry we don’t have any offers now” is been two years. I use this card and pay it off in full. I have a better credit card, that i pay no international fees and i am always getting good balance transfer offers. Don’t fall for this card, do your homework there are better cards out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 26, 2018

It’s because you dont know how to use it lol. This card is great to put on big purchases and pay it off with no interest. I have used this card on multiple vacation trips. When the 0% apt time i just close it. And when i need the 0% apr again i open a new account. This card is not to be used as an everyday card.

 
Apr 26, 2018
Horrendous Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

CitiSimplicity Customer Service is the worst I have encountered. They provide circular - useless answers, put your card on hold even you took the time to tell them where and what you were going to buy and how much you were going to spend on valid accounts in good standing. They pretend to be helpful but use incorrect information to verify the account as if they are looking at some other made up account. My account is just a few months old but I have no intention of putting it to use now that I have had such a bad experience and my situation is still not resolved and my card is still not available to me despite my efforts AND LOOKOUT the foreign language speaking operators ask you to give them at least two complete Credit Cards from other major banks in order to verify your account "another way" then tell you that they still cannot verify the account. NOW I HAVE TO WATCH NOT ONLY WHAT IS GOING ON WITH CITISIMPLICITY BUT ALSO THE ACCOUNTS THAT WERE SO-CALLED USED FOR VERIFICATION THAT DID NOT TAKE PLACE. 

more ...
Mar 28, 2018
vhoangx Cardholder

Pain in the butt, rejected and locked out my card after first charged of $79.99 at bestbuy. Horrible Indian customer service. Don’t bother

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card