Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 21 Months*
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 26.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months*
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 26.74%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (6) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 23, 2019
Citi has bad customer service.
goodcredit411 Cardholder

Citi has really bad customer service. They dont care about you. They will close your account without any warning. They hate poeople that pay off their card at the end of the month. They closed my account because i made payments on my card weekly because i was using it daily. they cancelled me and kept my reward points too.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 07, 2019

That doesn't make any sense. Something in your credit profile must have contributed to throwing up a red flag on their end. Sounds like someone needs some cheese with their whine...

 
Jun 22, 2019
Penalties for paying off
Dalyn18 Cardholder

Citibank has a practice of reducing your credit line if you make large payments. The only other bank I see do this on occasion is Discover. If your intention is to pay down debt this card isn't for you. The reduced credit will impact your score.

more ...
Jul 03, 2019

Credit Card companies will only reduce the credit limit if you start to display risky behavior on your credit usage which is reported on credit scores. Additionally, a letter is always sent to let you to let you know of their actions and ways to appeal it.

 
Jul 05, 2019

These companies like a few other do monthly credit checks the Hedge their risk so if your credit utilization goes up they might see that as a risk and then they were already planning to lower your credit line once your balance got a blow a certain amount it's not that you paid a large amount

 
Mar 09, 2019
Bad website
Tonypark Cardholder

Very frustrating website and customer service. Do not use citi bank.

more ...
Feb 16, 2019
Low starting limit with a 754 score.
theheat71 Cardholder

Last time I checked 750 was a EXCELLENT score and based on the forums I've heard the same thing people with stellar credit getting lowballed. Why not just do like crapitalone and give everyone $300....SMH.

more ...
Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 05, 2019

These companies like a few other do monthly credit checks the Hedge their risk so if your credit utilization goes up they might see that as a risk and then they were already planning to lower your credit line once your balance got a blow a certain amount it's not that you paid a large amount

 
Nov 08, 2018
Somewhat usefull for intial promo rate
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Good only for the initial promo rate, after that trash this card. Zero rewards, that so called Citibank Thankyou program is an insult. Interest rate is outragous. Balance transfers are never worth it. Don't even ask for a CL increase with perfect credit, it's an automatic decline.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card