Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 08, 2018
Reflectwitdidi Cardholder

Credit karma gave me a poor approval but I got a preapproved notification from capital one cos I got capital one platinum card already; I applied for this savor card and got it instantly with a 2k credit limit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 22, 2019
Abysmal customer service
CreditCardsGuru Cardholder

The card has attractive bonus categories and an easy to use mobile app.  To call the customer service inconsistent at best, is as much of a compliment as I can muster.  I highly recommend pursuing other dining cards from issuers with attentive, consistent, and knowledgeable customer service agents.  I have two of these cards (because of the attractive sign up bonus).  I would recommend seeking alternatives in case you should ever run into an issue where you need to count on the issuer.  Other cards that have replaced these in my wallet are the Uber Visa and Amex Gold cards.  Head and shoulders improvements in customer service experiences.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 13, 2019
IntroOffers aren't on online account?
kkrook96 Cardholder

Applied easily and was preapproved (good credit and 100% payment history), but went to the online account and it doesn't show that I have any of the introductory offers.... has this happened to anyone else?! I don't want this card if I have to pay that $95 fee first year.... Maybe I just have to wait to activte my card?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 14, 2019

your card is not even activated and you give this negitive review?

 
Mar 22, 2019
Approved but not instantly
creditbldginco Cardholder

I already have 3 Capital One cards; Platinum (hate), Quicksilver (first card years ago to rebuild credit.. meh) and Venture (love!).  My son is graduating high school in May of 2019 and we are going on a family trip to Walt Disney World.. NOT a cheap adventure.  When I saw that the Savor card offered a $500 bonus after spending $3k in 90 days AND 4% cash back on dining & entertainment, I knew that was the card I wanted.  After doing a LOT of research, I figured I had a 50/50 shot at approval.  I didn't have an offer or invitation.  All my other Cap1 cards have a zero balance and I used them all at different times throughout the time I had them.  Long story short, recent usage (approx $1k a month across all three current Cap1 cards), no balance and long time cardholder.

I applied online and was not instantly approved.  I got the "we will need more information and you'll receive something from us in the mail in 7-10 business days."  I decided to call the application status line approx. 3 days later. The recording said my application was in process and to expect something in the mail...blah..blah.  I held on for a representative who said the same thing.. "in process" but then sent me to their fraud check line.  This person asked me several questions to verify my identity and said thank you, and.. you guessed it... I will receive something in the mail in 5-10 business days.

Well, I'm literally waiting to pay for this trip based on getting approved or not on this card.. so I called again.  5 days (not business days) after my last call.  Recording STILL said it was being reviewed.  I held for a representative to find out that I was APPROVED the same day I called to give them additional information.  Since I recently paid off all my balances on all my cards, my credit score went from the 630's to high 600's during the time my credit was checked for this card.

Take aways.. this is the SECOND card.. ironically BOTH from Capital One where I wasn't approved instantly online, but later approved for pretty decent credit lines ($10k & $8k).  Don't get discouraged if you see that message when applying online.  You DO NOT need a score in the 700's to even consider this card.. AND... CK recommendations are not always correct.  Good luck!  I love Capital One so I'm thrilled!

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Abysmal customer service

The card has attractive bonus categories and an easy to use mobile app.  To call the customer service inconsistent at best, is as much of a compliment as I can muster.  I highly recommend pursuing other dining cards from issuers with attentive, consistent, and knowledgeable customer service agents.  I have two of these cards (because of the attractive sign up bonus).  I would recommend seeking alternatives in case you should ever run into an issue where you need to count on the issuer.  Other cards that have replaced these in my wallet are the Uber Visa and Amex Gold cards.  Head and shoulders improvements in customer service experiences.  

more ...
Feb 26, 2019
Horrible
JohnnyTwoTimes Cardholder

The customer service is horrible. They will not appreciate your business. Spent the day verifying the card so we could use it with no problems only to have it decline when we tried to make our second purchase. Now we are IN LINE to make our purchase when it declined. We call and are placed on hold for 15 minutes WHILE STILL WAITING TO PAY only to have them say we needed to now send a copy of our DL to verify we are who we are. At this point it’s 5:20PM and the store closed at 5. We had to leave without picking up our truck and drive back across town all while still on hold. It took over an hour to get verified for the THIRD time today but at this point we can’t get back the embarrassment or time wasted. Find a better card than Capital One.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019

My Capital One cards have worked every time since 2003. I use this almost every day. I think you should have had a backup card. I've had merchants have trouble running a card before and I'd use a backup with no problem.

 
Mar 11, 2019

Rsmy123 not everyone has a backup card or would want one.

 
Apr 20, 2019

It's ridiculous to have only one card AND depend on that card for anything important. Don't blame your lack of preparation on others. If you have/depend on a single card then you're either stubborn or stupid or probably both, and deserve the embarrassment.

 
Apr 21, 2019

Were you buying a truck with a credit card?

 
Feb 26, 2019
Horrible
JohnnyTwoTimes Cardholder

Th

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 18, 2019

If give your going to give a review and say the card is horrible can you at least give a explanation as to why you think so.

 
Feb 21, 2019
Not showing up on my credit report.
Moneyhungry01 Cardholder

This card has a great welcome bonus after 3k spent in the first 3 months. I have made well over the annual fee in rewards already due to the amount I spend on it. Be sure to always pay your balance if you want to profit one balance hit with interest and it will add far more then the reward to your balance due. I have had it for almost three months is anyone else not having it appear on thier credit report? To clarify i would like it on my report to raise my over all credit line %. Please comment with any information thanks in advance!!

more ...
Feb 25, 2019

Most likely they hard hit Experian only. I've had that happen, but the account should show on all 3 eventually with a hit on possibly one bureau only. After 3 months, it should appear. It may take more time. I've had credit line increases take 3 months to show.

 
Mar 31, 2019

It shows up after three months.

 
Feb 18, 2019
Fabulous!
Kuririn Cardholder

Just took it overseas and I really like at my statement it explains how much the charges at local currency, how much the exchange rate and final total charge in USD. No hassle no haggle! This credit card exchange rate is better than exchange rate that the local money changer gave for my USD cash. No hassle no haggle!

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
$237 back in 6 months!
pistachionut Cardholder

I have an older version of this card that didn't offer such a big sign-on bonus, but I still accrued almost $240 cash back in 6 months with intermittent restaurant and entertainment spending. While previously capped at 3% cash back like the SavorOne is, the new 4% back now even applies to things like botanical gardens, men's chorus, and modern dance shows. The cash back can be used as soon as it shows up on the statement, and it can be applied directly to the statement, a specific purchase, a gift card from one of dozens of retailers, a check directly to you, or transferred to another C1 account. I also received 0% on purchases and transfers for over a year, but I'm not sure if that still applies. The older version also continues all the improved benefits at no annual fee which is super sweet. Hopefully they keep that promise. The $500 cash back in 3 months on the new version is just insane!

more ...
Jan 19, 2019
An excellent card that manages to wow me
TBD1977 Cardholder

Had it for about a month and a half now, got approved on 720/740 CK/Experian (oddly, their model rated me 698 based on the blurb in the welcome package), we eat out a lot and large expeses for entertainment, so going for the 4% card at annual fee was a no-brainer for me.

Extremely happy with the whole online interface, the way the card rewards are instantly calculated and available, granted there are some grey areas, where restaurants in hotels can be billed as "hotel" rather than dining, depending on their respective billing practices, but that is a general issue and I would not hold it against the card.

Have not had to interact with customer service yet, so, can't comment on that.

In terms of features and everyday management I am currently extremely satisfied, received the welcome bonus the second the respective charge was processed. Application process was easy online, they checked for pre-approved offers, which I didn't have, but instantly cleared me for a decent credit line. Card arrived reasonably fast. App and website great to use. If you're dining/entertaining, this is for you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 31, 2019

Just curious did they use FICO Score 8 or 9?

 
Jan 04, 2019
Great card
DCRANDMLR Cardholder

Great Rewards. 4% on dining is great. Plus $500 free cash...Love it 

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Grandfathered
PhDarien Cardholder

I got grandfathered in after product changing to the original savor from a quiksilver .  No bonus for me.  While this is an amazing card, I don’t use it at all besides the entertainment portion.  My AMEX Gold gives the 4% dining and supermarkets, which is where this should’ve been if it’s for foodies.   My Sapphire Reserve gives 3% back, but the points are worth more.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 08, 2019

You have to pay an annual fee to American Express to get 4% on dining, where you don't pay any annual fee for a grandfathered Savor.

 
Dec 27, 2018
Amazing
jaqueh Cardholder

What a great card. High sign up bonus and restaurant cash back is through the roof. Easy approval and decent customer service.

more ...
Dec 07, 2018
Awesome
Aaaamanduh Cardholder

Appoved in minutes!! Limit was higher than I expected!! Capital one always comes though for me. I absolutely love them!!

more ...
Dec 13, 2018

That's nice to hear

 
Mar 04, 2019

What did they give u for a limit and what was your credit score

 
Nov 24, 2018
This is my go-to card for everything!
Erika1281 Cardholder

Great rewards program! Great customer service! You can't go wrong with Capital One!

more ...
Nov 18, 2018
Great if you go out often
BIGSEXY05 Cardholder

Awesome card... Got grandfathered in so I get to skip the yearly fee. Even with the yearly fee if you use it enough you will definitely make your money back. Started with a 10k line and combined all my other Cap one cards to this card so the line is currently just north of 45k. It's extremely easy to combine lines through capital one... Redemption is easy, the rewards show up quickly, just overall a great card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 03, 2019

I didn't realize you could even combined your lines of credit like that through any card company but have thought it would be great if you could. Seeing you are the very first person I have ever seen mention it I want to Thank You so much. I'm going to look into this, You would think this would be talked about often. I kniw alot of people need to juggle their cards.. inactivity isn't good so of course we try to use our cards as often as possible to avoid losing them and the total overall credit limits. I see you stated that Capital One is easy to combined all your cards, Do they just combined it to your most recent card or do they give you that option. ..? Either Way.. To Me its a No Brainer. Much Appreciated Thanks again .

 
Nov 04, 2018
Good if you eat out a lot
fexon Cardholder

What motivated me the most to get this card was the $500 bonus (after spending $3000 in the first 3 months). I paid my rent using the card to meet that $3000 rthreshhold in 3 months. 4% on eating out and entertainment is good but I don't think it's enough to cover the $95 fee after the first year so I will probably cancel at the end of the first year.

more ...
Nov 04, 2018

Or you can switch to the Savor One card, which is the identical card minus the $95 fee and 3% on restaurants and entertainment instead of 4%. Taking 1% less means you can spend $9500 less per year to cover the annual fee. You need to spend over $9500 in dining and entertainment in order to justify the annual fee.

 
Nov 10, 2018

With the Savor card, you only need to spend $2,375 annually on dining and entertainment to cover your $95 annual fee. If you have a family or go out with friends often and are willing to pick up the entire bill and have your friends pay you back in cash, that number shouldn’t be too hard to hit over the course of a year.

 
Nov 28, 2018

Yeah but why sign up for rewards for the rewards to just pay your annual fee. That defeats the purpose. Get the two percent back from a free rewards card and actual get something from it. This card is literally for the $500 reward.

 
Oct 27, 2018
JCD10 Cardholder

Great rewards program, if my reserve changes their program for the worse, this would be my main card. If you dine out often and spend money on movies, theme parks etc then this card is for you. No foreign transaction  fees, the app is beautiful and the customer service is great. Hope they never change a thing!

more ...
Oct 08, 2018
Reflectwitdidi Cardholder

Credit karma gave me a poor approval but I got a preapproved notification from capital one cos I got capital one platinum card already; I applied for this savor card and got it instantly with a 2k credit limit

more ...
Oct 18, 2018

What was your credit like to begin with?

 
Oct 18, 2018

Same here score was about 640

 
Nov 03, 2018

Which on Transunion or Equifax?

 
Nov 24, 2018

I'm like you I have capital one quicksilver and it says poor odds of approval should I go for it? I have teens all they do is fast food and games

 
Dec 03, 2018

when I applied for the Savor card it said my odds where poor....applied anyway and was given a $15 K limit .

 
Jan 12, 2019

If you have a cap one card already and aren’t looking for another but a different kind of card, call and ask for product change. They are pretty accommodating.

 
Oct 08, 2018
Reflectwitdidi Cardholder

Credit karma gave me a poor approval rating but I already had a platinum card from capital one, so they sent me a preapproved notification for this card.. I applied and I got it immediately 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 24, 2018

So they reached out to u from cap 1?

 
Oct 02, 2018
KhalThorSnow Cardholder

I have had this card for over three months now and I love it. Since I do travel a bit, I tend to eat out alot, so the rewards program works great and can add up quickly. I highly recommend this card. 

more ...
Sep 29, 2018
Perfect for Foodies!!
Dmind99 Cardholder

Great card with very straight forward rewards. And since it’s Capital one, you know it’s quality. I picked this card up before it went mainstream, so I was grandfathered into no Annual Fee and still get all of the perks. Oh, and it’s a World Elite Mastercard...Score!!!! 

more ...
Sep 27, 2018
Love it
MsBrindas Cardholder

The rewards are awesome. Fits my lifestyle with discover it this 2 are my go to (I own 5 American Express, Chase, Capital 1 silver)for rewards I say it's awesome and customer service is good could use a bit work but but could if been the rep.

more ...
Nov 05, 2018

Your on your way to a financial review by Amex so becareful on all that credit its hard to past that financial review they will close your amex cards if u cant supply your last 2 years of tax returns

 
Jan 10, 2019

You’re*

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card

37 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i