Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
31 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 22, 2019
Approved but not instantly
creditbldginco Cardholder

I already have 3 Capital One cards; Platinum (hate), Quicksilver (first card years ago to rebuild credit.. meh) and Venture (love!).  My son is graduating high school in May of 2019 and we are going on a family trip to Walt Disney World.. NOT a cheap adventure.  When I saw that the Savor card offered a $500 bonus after spending $3k in 90 days AND 4% cash back on dining & entertainment, I knew that was the card I wanted.  After doing a LOT of research, I figured I had a 50/50 shot at approval.  I didn't have an offer or invitation.  All my other Cap1 cards have a zero balance and I used them all at different times throughout the time I had them.  Long story short, recent usage (approx $1k a month across all three current Cap1 cards), no balance and long time cardholder.

I applied online and was not instantly approved.  I got the "we will need more information and you'll receive something from us in the mail in 7-10 business days."  I decided to call the application status line approx. 3 days later. The recording said my application was in process and to expect something in the mail...blah..blah.  I held on for a representative who said the same thing.. "in process" but then sent me to their fraud check line.  This person asked me several questions to verify my identity and said thank you, and.. you guessed it... I will receive something in the mail in 5-10 business days.

Well, I'm literally waiting to pay for this trip based on getting approved or not on this card.. so I called again.  5 days (not business days) after my last call.  Recording STILL said it was being reviewed.  I held for a representative to find out that I was APPROVED the same day I called to give them additional information.  Since I recently paid off all my balances on all my cards, my credit score went from the 630's to high 600's during the time my credit was checked for this card.

Take aways.. this is the SECOND card.. ironically BOTH from Capital One where I wasn't approved instantly online, but later approved for pretty decent credit lines ($10k & $8k).  Don't get discouraged if you see that message when applying online.  You DO NOT need a score in the 700's to even consider this card.. AND... CK recommendations are not always correct.  Good luck!  I love Capital One so I'm thrilled!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 17, 2019
Is not worth it!
FamTennis Cardholder

Firstly, do get the merchant codes from your regular entertainment providers before applying for this card. Even if you have the other Capital One card, where your day-to-day transactions are marked as 'Entertainment", when it comes to Savor card, it may see those differently as not covered by 4% cash back Rule. And this is how you end up getting the ridiculous 1% instead.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 10, 2019
This card has a great rewards system.
Kei016 Cardholder

I love CapitalOne in general.  They have been great anytime I have had questions or concerns.  I have the savor card and the rewards are great!  I got mine before the $95 annual fee, so I do not have to pay that.  However, for newbies, if you are getting the card to take advantage of the rewards, the $95 is worth it.  If you are getting an emergency card, then pick a card without any annual fee.

more ...
Sep 29, 2019
Instant Approval.

Instantly approved at 760 Transunion and 754 Equifax. $20k limit. I have had the Quicksilver for 7 years or so, missed a few payments due to forgetting and not having auto-pay enabled. Typically spend $2-5k on cards per month. Capital One didn't hold my missess against me, and I'm pretty happy. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 01, 2019

How long was your account close before applying

 
Sep 27, 2019
ScottNFL22 Cardholder

Mixed feelings, turned annoyed. First-Capital One has been great. A $300 Platinum out of BK has now turned into a $5200 Savior and a $500 Quick Silver in about 3 years. However, now they are refusing to give me an increase on both/either cards. It’s been pretty consistent (every 6 months) up to this point. But when I apply now, it first said my balances are too high (which they were) so I paid them down but now says I am missing credit information? A different response and on both cards? How can I be missing credit information NOW when I’ve had them for 3 years? And this new fantasy reason is no where to be found in the FAQs. If y’all are stopping the increases just say I’m not eligible. But I hold off on any credit decisions until after these increases. (Thinking of getting another card but don’t want the inquiry until I see how high Capital One will raise my limits) 

so, I still think it’s a great company, customer service has always been friendly but just annoyed they have randomly stopped doing what they have always done with out warning. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2019
The Card is thick and heavy
IAmOlderNow Cardholder

Credit Karma told me I had a poor odds of getting this card. I applied with a credit score of 620 and 624. I was instantly approved for $2000. I already have 2 capital one cards. The Quicksilver one and platinum. I had asked for an increase on the quicksilver one and the increased me from $2500 to $4000 and on the platinum from $1200 to $1750 so I yook a chance and applied for the Savor. My goal now is to get the venture since I do a lot of travelling. Hope this will help someone

more ...
Sep 17, 2019

Is it the savor card or the savor one so I know which one to apply for

 
Sep 18, 2019

How many capital one card can you have at one time

 
Sep 26, 2019

Were those your credit karma score or did you get an official report?

 
Sep 01, 2019
Worth the $95 annual fee
Rallyhat Cardholder

4% cash back on entertainment catagory is a key benefif

more ...
Aug 22, 2019
Customer service & Fraud department
3lChing0n Cardholder

I applied for this card and was excited to take advantage of the 0%APR specially since I had a trip planned for the same time I was to get the card, well everything was cool and received the email with the welcome information and also another one with the arrival date of the card, here is when everything started , 3 days before receiving the card I received a notification that some one was trying to use the card In NJ FYI I LIVE IN CA, I reported that immediately specially since I didn’t have the Cc I tough I didn’t have to worry at all, WRONG , it’s been 3 months since the Fraud situation and I’m still fighting with them , I always spend 40-60 min on the phone without a solution ,  or they always say the department that handle the investigation is close. FOR REAL ???? What type of service this people provide , I wish I would know who to contact and probably sue this company, the amount of stress and time consuming is ridiculous. Please don’t get this card , I’m already planing on possible close once I pay my balance. 

more ...
Jul 26, 2019
Go-to option for eating out
dabears8686 Cardholder

I'm lucky enough to be granfathered in to having no annual fee. This card is my go-to for dining since I can get 4% back. The entertainment category is great too, and one that isn't seen on a lot of cards. Entertainment purchases might be less common, but buying event tickets can be pretty pricey. It's good to know you'll be getting 4% back on those purchases.

more ...
Jul 17, 2019
Is not worth it!
FamTennis Cardholder

Firstly, do get the merchant codes from your regular entertainment providers before applying for this card. Even if you have the other Capital One card, where your day-to-day transactions are marked as 'Entertainment", when it comes to Savor card, it may see those differently as not covered by 4% cash back Rule. And this is how you end up getting the ridiculous 1% instead.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 21, 2019

But I've gotten 4% several times when expecting 1% so it has evened out for me.

 
Jul 09, 2019
A++ Customer Service, Great for Foodies
KDoctorK Cardholder

The customer service for this card and Capital One in general is AMAZING. The signup bonus plus 4% on dining is a great reward. My other Capital One card is a VentureOne from my student days that has a $20,000 limit (which was heavily used with a $0 balance when applying), yet was only approved for $15,000 on Savor (which was enough but surprising), and took ~2 weeks to get approved, and another week to get the card. The Free Postmates Unlimited subscription was a nice surprise!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 15, 2019

The reason for the smaller limit is probably because you have the other card with them. So they view it like having one card with a 35K limit. It's like getting approved for a 15K limit increase.

 
Jun 09, 2019
Fits my style perfectly
McGiggins Cardholder

We travel, eat out ALOT and love catching events.  This is one of the few if not the only card I have seen with "entertainment" as a bonus category.  Annual fees are always annoying but with my Savor being a World Elite Mastercard there are added benefits that offset the fee.  This is my go to card now.  I've called customer service and they were quick and knowledgeable.  The application process was different.  I was not initially approved with an 822 FICO.  About a week later I recieved an  email and a generous credit line.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card