Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2018
Middle of the Road for Travel Cards
Mytq Cardholder

I have had this card for just over a year. I have not had any bad experiences with it. I did have one issue though, I booked a "Condo" at the beach. I made the mistake of "assuming" this would be a travel purchase. I tried to redeem miles for it, however it did not show up in my redeemable purchases. I contacted Capital One customer service via the chat feature. After some haggling, I was told my issue would be forwared to another department. What do you know, they went ahead and redeemed it.   The moral of the story though is, check carefully before booking to make sure your purchase will be categorized as a travel purchase. I suggest using their new  www.hotels.com/venture booking site, or prior to making a purchase giving customer service a chat message and confirm your purchase will be properly classified. Remember to get a transcript of the chat.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 08, 2019
Misleading rewards!!
carlimccoy Cardholder

Misleading Rewards!! I was baited into opening a venture one card with it's 20,000 mile reward if $1,000 is spent within 90 days. I already had a quicksilver card that I found sufficient, but I planned to travel frequently in 2019 so I decided to pay off the quicksilver and open the venture one for the extra miles. I spent $3,000 in the first two months and didn't ever see the extra miles come into the account. I called, was on hold for over 25 minutes to hear that someone would call me in 5 business days. No one called me after two weeks. I called again, a woman named veronica said she had my notes and will call me back within 24 hours. I received a call a few hours later from a 1-800 number that dropped. No call back. I called the customer service number a third time and went through all the prompts to be on hold again for 15 minutes to be told I didn't qualify because I registered with a pre-approval email and not a specific promotion. Why advertise and then not give the deal to your loyal customers? Long story short, I'm paying off the card and not returning to capital one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 20, 2019
ok!!!
Lamont214 Cardholder

It is used as a secondary card due to no credit increases so far. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 10, 2019

Ask for an increase? I have tripled my original, credit.

 
Feb 18, 2019
russo68 Cardholder

This car is a joke, I have had a card with Capital One never missed a payment, actually have never missed a payment on any of my credit cards however my other cards are 4 - 8 thousand dollars limit and they offer me $8000 limit, and tell me oh your limit will go up after seven billing cycles, so that leaves five cycles of 0% interest at a higher limit, if they raise it all my guess is they probably won’t raise it until after the interest-rate is gone up, 

more ...
Feb 09, 2019
solid travel card
isastring Cardholder

I appreciate the no annual fee and no international transaction fee.  If I'm being honest, I use this card primarily just for booking flights and secondary expenses.  The rewards are alright, but not as good as my other cards.  I did have my identity stolen with it once though.  They sent me a text to let me know of the suspicious activity ($200 at gas stations over two days - and I have an electric car).  I called and they immediately locked down my card and refunded the purchases.

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
Welcome Bonus Reward is a sham!!!!!
MileHi5280 Cardholder

When applying for this card, ensure you are signing up for the welcome bonus of 20000 points. Apparently they have different promotions without the 20000 points. Never would have applied for this card since I have a Capital One Quicksilver card and a Chase Sapphire card. BEWARE OF WHAT YOU ARE APPLYING FOR!!!! VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS CARD AND FALSE PROMOTIONAL PRACTICES!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 10, 2019

What your problem bro? Just because you applied, for wrong card. Do not knock this one! Read before you apply next tome

 
Jan 29, 2019
Simple to use. Has Phone App.
ranill Cardholder

Love that I can check my balance from the app. So far haven't had any problems using the card. I get rewards as promised and there have been no surprises. Was given a credit limit of 2,000 only when my score was around 600. Since the last year it looks like my score has gone up to around 730 so I may look into get a higher limit amount.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 26, 2019

Is it definite possibility of getting approved for the card if you're CS is in the 600's??

 
Jan 17, 2019
The card is decent, rewards are ****ty.
Susu2323 Cardholder

They take forever to send u your rewards, I've been waiting 2 months and there's nothing they can do to speed up the process, incompetence. The reward ratio is sad to begin with then u jump through hoops. Interest is ok though.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 10, 2019

My rewards came within 5 business days. Every time, going on 20 times rewards

 
Jan 08, 2019
Misleading rewards!!
carlimccoy Cardholder

Misleading Rewards!! I was baited into opening a venture one card with it's 20,000 mile reward if $1,000 is spent within 90 days. I already had a quicksilver card that I found sufficient, but I planned to travel frequently in 2019 so I decided to pay off the quicksilver and open the venture one for the extra miles. I spent $3,000 in the first two months and didn't ever see the extra miles come into the account. I called, was on hold for over 25 minutes to hear that someone would call me in 5 business days. No one called me after two weeks. I called again, a woman named veronica said she had my notes and will call me back within 24 hours. I received a call a few hours later from a 1-800 number that dropped. No call back. I called the customer service number a third time and went through all the prompts to be on hold again for 15 minutes to be told I didn't qualify because I registered with a pre-approval email and not a specific promotion. Why advertise and then not give the deal to your loyal customers? Long story short, I'm paying off the card and not returning to capital one.

more ...
Dec 20, 2018
Not Terrible; Not Great
RayLew2 Cardholder

This card is just ok.  The welcome bonus is nice, booking with rewards is kind of a pain.  The flight inverntory was minimal.  They are now allowing to you transfer you points elswhere which is nice.  The customer service could be better, but it's not terrible.  If you are new to rewards cards and don't spend a bunch you may like this card.

more ...
Oct 24, 2018
Decent, not great rewards.

The reward rate isn't the best but it's not terrible either. The customer service I've received has always been good through Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card