Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.99% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.99% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 27, 2019
REWARDS!
Ernurse01 Cardholder

I have had this card for almost 7 months now. In this time I was able to earn $1,200 in rewards...$1,200! I have not used any yet, saving them to pay for my airfare and cruise in December. I love that they text me with any unusual purchases, keeps me safe. I have paid my balance in full every month so I dont have any interest charges to pay. This card is wonderful and the rewards really add up fast. I couldn't be happier!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 13, 2019
WTR2101 Cardholder

On May 8 I was browsing through my reward points looking at pricing for a potential vacation. I was doing some comparisons and mistakenly clicked to redeem 44,000 points with JetBlue. Immediately after I realized my error I contacted customer service at capital One to alert them of my error. In conversation with the level one rap they understood my concern but we’re on able to assist. I then requested to speak to a manager and was transferred accordingly. In conversation with the manager he stated that there was nothing he could do to correct the issue. When I asked to speak to his manager he claimed there was no one higher than him then I could talk to. He was a little rude in his tone and suggested we contact JetBlue directly. I contacted JetBlue and the rep was sympathetic to the situation and simply stated that the points could be returned to capital one and that a simple email from the points department to JetBlue is all that would be required. I then called back to capital One and spoke to a new rep who stated that my concern would be escalated to the appropriate team and a review would take five business days. I received a call back this evening May 13th and again explained the situation to the capital one rep. Once again our request to have the points returned to our account was again denied. I again requested to speak to a manager. In conversation with the new manager she was unwilling to write a simple email as I requested to JetBlue to resolve this to which I feel is unfair to me being a valued customer. I am very upset with the situation and the lack of customer service capital one has provided thus far. Your company needs to review their policies to be more customer centric. When errors are made there should be provisions to help the customer. I will be taking this matter to the Better Business Bureau and other social media outlets.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 25, 2019
Unethical Interest fees charged
Melanie3288 Cardholder

They charge interest even after you pay the entire balance off by the due date. I think this went into a class action lawsuit. I still have the card, but I won't be making any purchases with it.

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
Customer service at Capital One is awful
JKB2 Cardholder

The card is irrelevant when the company behind it is incapable of providing basic customer service.  You will be extremely disappointed should you require assistance for something as basic as an address change.  I spent 45 minutes on the phone and ultimately closed the account.  

more ...
May 29, 2019
Travel Card to Consider
zunamiwave Cardholder

I have own this card now for almost two years. When I applied this card, they gave me $10K limit. What I like about Capital One is that they do a soft inquiry versus other card out there that does hard inquiry when applying for limit increase. I am currently sitting $23K on this and I am about to get my next increase. I have used this card for everything and I can't complain at all. Capital One has been great with me.

more ...
May 13, 2019
WTR2101 Cardholder

On May 8 I was browsing through my reward points looking at pricing for a potential vacation. I was doing some comparisons and mistakenly clicked to redeem 44,000 points with JetBlue. Immediately after I realized my error I contacted customer service at capital One to alert them of my error. In conversation with the level one rap they understood my concern but we’re on able to assist. I then requested to speak to a manager and was transferred accordingly. In conversation with the manager he stated that there was nothing he could do to correct the issue. When I asked to speak to his manager he claimed there was no one higher than him then I could talk to. He was a little rude in his tone and suggested we contact JetBlue directly. I contacted JetBlue and the rep was sympathetic to the situation and simply stated that the points could be returned to capital one and that a simple email from the points department to JetBlue is all that would be required. I then called back to capital One and spoke to a new rep who stated that my concern would be escalated to the appropriate team and a review would take five business days. I received a call back this evening May 13th and again explained the situation to the capital one rep. Once again our request to have the points returned to our account was again denied. I again requested to speak to a manager. In conversation with the new manager she was unwilling to write a simple email as I requested to JetBlue to resolve this to which I feel is unfair to me being a valued customer. I am very upset with the situation and the lack of customer service capital one has provided thus far. Your company needs to review their policies to be more customer centric. When errors are made there should be provisions to help the customer. I will be taking this matter to the Better Business Bureau and other social media outlets.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 18, 2019

i dont buy your story at all. No one mistakenly clicks for 44000 points redemptions.

 
May 06, 2019
So bad I couldn't get it activated.
hpcit Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved. I get my card and go online to activate and log in as an existing CaptialOne member (I had another card through them). I get a two factor security text sent to my cell phone which I put in the verification numbers and was then prompted to call to activate instead. I call the number and was directed to the fraud department. They want to send me another two factor security text so I give them the same number (the cell number on my account) and they tell me they can't send a verification to that number. Instead they put me on hold for 10 minutes and when they came back asked me a series of security questions for another round of verifications. I answer the questions correctly but apparenty the information they had was incorrect because they said I failed to properly varify my identity. Then they wanted me to send them a photo of my ID for another round of verfication which I did and that was it. Nobody called me back. Furious, I called CapitalOne the next day and cancelled both of my cards. I will never use CapitalOne again.

more ...
Apr 30, 2019
My first $10k+ limit card!!
Lingus84 Cardholder

After about two years of bringing my score up from a 563 to an even 800, I decided to apply for a “big boy” card. I looked at all the high limit cards and decided to go with the Venture card. Since I was already a longtime Capital One customer, I thought I would have better approval odds over another high end card such as the Chase Sapphire Preferred. Especially, since I am not a chase customer. Whichever company you bank with, try to go over their high end cards and decide which one is right for you. Best of luck! 

more ...
Jun 10, 2019

That’s amazing! How did you raise your score so high over two years?

 
Jun 11, 2019

JB3000, I paid off previous debt and applied for a few other cads that helped to decrease my utilization percentage. Try to keep your card(s) paid off or carry no more than a balance that equates to no more than 10% of your available credit limit. Also, I recommend to make multiple payments on the account throughout the billing cycle. Best of luck!

 
Apr 27, 2019
REWARDS!
Ernurse01 Cardholder

I have had this card for almost 7 months now. In this time I was able to earn $1,200 in rewards...$1,200! I have not used any yet, saving them to pay for my airfare and cruise in December. I love that they text me with any unusual purchases, keeps me safe. I have paid my balance in full every month so I dont have any interest charges to pay. This card is wonderful and the rewards really add up fast. I couldn't be happier!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 27, 2019

And I gave the card 5 stars, not 4 but CK wouldn't allow me to.

 
Apr 23, 2019
Great rewards card!
vettfan1 Cardholder

I applied, and was approved with a $30,000 credit limit within 5 minutes! After spending $3000 within 3 weeks, 50,000 bonus miles was added to my account automatically! This paid off 2 hotel visits at $500, and I haven’t even had the card for a month! Really happy so far!

more ...
Apr 24, 2019

Do you mind sharing your credit scores you had when you applied?

 
May 23, 2019

What were your scores when you applied?... if you dont mind sharing.

 
Jul 12, 2019

I've never heard of a starting CL of $30k from Capital One?

 
Apr 19, 2019
Quick approval process
kllyrgl Cardholder

Thanks Credit Karma, I was given very good approval odds for this card, and I applied through Credit Karma and was approved in about 3 minutes! The process was quicker and easier than I could have expected.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2019

If you don’t mind me asking, what we’re your scores and what was your CL approval?

 
Apr 10, 2019
Wow, i'm shocked!
beerknurd Cardholder

I am less than 2 years post CH7 BK and was approved for a 10k limit. I am super stoked that Capital One let me have a "big boy" card so soon after bankruptcy. I haven't paid a dime of interest since I filed so i'm not gonna mess this up. Thank you Capital One for trusting me again.

more ...
May 04, 2019

One question for you beerknurd. I file bankruptcy about 9 months ago and I’m rebuilding my credit also. Waiting another 6 to 8 months before I apply for a big boy card! Was capital one apart of your bankruptcy?

 
May 05, 2019

No, they were not one of my creditors when I filed. Probably why this one was issued. My only other Cap One card is a Quicksilver One that only has a $500 limit.

 
May 23, 2019

Can you share your scores at the time you applied?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card