Banking Reviews


Results 1-25 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 5   Previous | Next
Dec 10, 2017
No complaints whatsoever
mightywingman
2 Contributions 0 People Helped

In my 4th year with CS and I have never encountered a problem. The one time I lost my debit card, I was able to get a replacement really fast from a very polite and knowledgable CS rep. I travel to Asia often and use the ATM. Any and all fees have been reimbursed. The Brokeage Account that comes with it has been sitting dormant since opened but just recently, I was able to open a Schwab Investor card from Amex because of it. The interest rate is better than the majority of mainstream banks but personally for me, it was never an issue since I maintain a relatively small amount; bulk resting in much higher yielding savings accounts.

If you rarely deal with cash like me, this online bank is the way to go IMO.

more ...
Dec 06, 2017
Horrible.
hillary8888
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Probably going under. Look at all of their layoffs.

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
good yield and service. no thrills.
Anonymous

Opening an account for me was harder than most since i had to call in to finish the application, but customer service was great and answered immediately so no problems there. Turnaround time for pushing funds FROM Amex website into an external account is ~3 days. For pulling funds into the Amex savings account FROM the Amex website it takes about 5 days for the funds to become available, but it is posted immediately and interest accrues starting on the date you initaiate the transfer, so no issues with that either. Does what a savings account should do with a good yield and great customer service, but it is a no-thrills service. Very basic website and no mobile app.

more ...
Nov 30, 2017
Very crooked
Multitasker78
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Can tell you this much they have a $4 monthly fee if you don't pay that even though you have a zero balance they will destroy your credit they will never call you to tell you how you always this $4 then when you explain the situation they do nothing for you they want to talk about accurate reporting so I have a late payment on my credit report after I paid off my entire balance for $4 which is a monthly fee that they never even discussed with me they are completely unreasonable and by all means shred your cards do not apply stay away from these people

more ...
May 08, 2017
harris bank is better than any other ban
Anonymous

it gives me the money i need

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
The first bank I've stayed with
jus10young
Top Contributor 16 Contributions 101 People Helped

Frost is a slice of Texas. They operate only in Texas and their customer service lines... you guessed it, are in Texas. A live person answers the calls, usually on the first ring. No automated menues, or oursourced reps.

Being a smaller bank, they have competive rates and EXCEPTIONAL in branch employees. They'll open the door for you, get you a coffee or a snack. Having a smaller ATM network, the out of network ATM fee is only $1.50.   (Compared to $3+ with the national banks)

When my account was compromised, it took one call to customer service. I stopped by a branch, they had the new account open- starter checks ready- and have moved the provisional fraud credit into the new account. 

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Lowest interest rate
Anonymous

The Prestige Elite Card has been one of the lowest interest rate cards in my wallet.  At a rate of prime plus 4%, the major credit card companies can't beat it.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Very friendly. Great customer service.
Anonymous

They might not have the most locations but they are very helpful and very friendly. 24 hour customer support where you can actually talk to a person.

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
sucks
Anonymous

Don't let them take car payment directly out of your account, they keep doing it even after the car is paid off.

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Great Cashback Credit Card
RonBargarh
8 Contributions 8 People Helped

I recently got approved for their new Cashback Mastercard which has a flat 3% cashback on Dining, Groceries and Gas. Amazing Card. APR is pretty decent. I already had their Any Deposit Checking Account, so the application process was fast and easy over the phone. Got approved with a really generous credit limit so all in all a very good experience.

 Any Deposit Checking Account is also great product because all you need is just a deposit of any amount to waive the account fee. It's a simple account but it's so easy to avoid paying the fee.

All in all a positive experience

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Great for Rebuilding Credit
STMahlberg
1 Contributions 2 People Helped

This is a great card for rebuilding credit... Don't let the bad reviews fool you.

I have had this card for 13 years. They started me out with a $500 limit when my FICO wasn't even 600 and every year I would receive a letter offering an increase in my limit. I did that for about 7 years and raised it to $1900; credit increases for me each year was $200. Although I now receive credit limit increase offers from them about every 6 months, I have not asked for an increase in about 6 years. In fact, I just received a letter from them yesterday. I don't feel the need to increase my limit when my FICO if over 800 and I rarely use the card.

If you ask for an increase from them or anyone they WILL run your credit no matter how good your payment history. If your payment is late, you WILL get dinged for this and it does take a few days for your payment to post so keep that in mind when making payments.

I don't know where this “once a month” or “every 10 days” payment information came from; however, I make payments to all of my credit cards each week and its NEVER been rejected, not even by CorTrust.

This card is very expensive to maintain but that's the price you pay for messing up your credit. I pay a $6 a month maintenance fee along with a $50 annual fee. Why do I keep this card you ask? Because they were very good to me in a time when I didn't deserve it... and I've had the card for 13 years.

If you think you're going to get this card or any card and fix your credit in the next 2 years, you're fooling yourself; that and you're probably falling for the BS on the internet or TV ads.

Fixing your credit is a long and sometimes painful process. It will take 7 to 10 years for bad credit to fall off your credit report and that's if things go right. Educate yourself on how your credit works and what it's based on, such as, length of credit, credit limit, overall percent credit usage, card percent usage, among other things. Credits cards are good, store cards are bad, consolidations can be bad, having a company negotiate your payments or interest rate is really, really, bad, paying to fix your credit is more times than not wasting your money. Using your card to only 10% of your balance and paying it off is good, having a 50% usage on your card is bad, maxing your card... well... you might as well shoot yourself in the foot.

I could write a book.

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
There's got to be a better Bank I can ch
JAMIECLAUDIA
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

There's got to be a better Bank you can choose too!!

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
horrible experience
chandrimab84
4 Contributions 0 People Helped

I applied for my FNBO direct account on September 30th.  It did not get processed online and it said someone will contact me by phone or email. I received an email asking me to complete my application process - when I logged in, there was nothing for me to complete. I called customer service, they said they have to review it by hand, it will take 48 hrs to see what is missing. Passed 48 hrs no email or phone call. I called customer service back talked to the manager , the manager sent the document again to the department that process this application. I was told I need to fax or mail address proof, I faxed address proof. It has been 2 days since, I called they cannot even confirm if they received my fax yet, let alone the status of the application. Horrible service . Stay away from this bank. I am regretting for even applying here. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2017
Terrible security
phillymom215
1 Contributions 2 People Helped

 I am astonished at the incompetence of this company. 2 weeks ago, my husband noticed fraudulent charges, completely out of line with our typical account activity. When I called to report it they said they would put a dispute in and shut the card down for me. 2 days later we found the rest of our account had been completely drained. When I called to inquire why, they had allowed the people fraudulently using our account to reopen it and drain the rest of the funds. They never notified us that our card was being used in a different part of the country or for large cash withdrawls which is completely unlike us AND they allowed them to continue even after I reported the fraud and shut the card down. They actually reopened the card for them. Over the next few days I spent countless hours on the phone with numerous customer service representatives who had no idea what they were doing and could not offer me any additional security on my account. About 5 days after the initial report, I spoke with a representative who informed me the first representative had never filed a dispute. So they lied and did nothing to help me get the funds back. That representative disputed the fraudulent activity. At this point, daycare, the mortgage, and electric bill are not getting paid. They assured me my case was the highest priority for their loss prevention team, then assigned it to someone on vacation. Finally, they gave me a provisional credit for the funds and now won't let me access it so now, 2 weeks later, we are still unable to pay our mortgage or any other bills. I just spend hours on the phone being bounced around to different departments all with no idea what they are doing. I can't go into a branch to see a person either. Also, I've compared their security to other banks and it's pitiful. Even my credit union allows a secret password on the account but they don't. Most other banks allow a security code to be sent to your phone or email before being able to get access to the account when speaking with a rep. They don't (although they have the option for online login, but that did nothing to protect me). We will never bank here again.

more ...
Nov 30, 2017
horrible
Anonymous

good for loading and transfering money to family members, simply horrible for anything else!!!

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Very slow to disburse loan payments.
Anonymous

Took out a business loan with them.  They would not pay my contractor, other vendors in a timely manner.  When the project was complete they created new reasons they couldn't pay my vendors.  After being shuffled to several people at the bank to complain, I was ignored.  The customer service was very poor and at one point I was told that my loan was only a few hundred thousand dollars, so they really didn't have time for me!

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous

Just got hit with a 30-day late pay, apparently, their autopay system doesn't work if it's setup for 5 days before payment is due. Called the customer service number to get it taken care of and they were impossible to deal with, they can't change the due date & they were rude about it. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
Worst CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER
Anonymous

They overcharged me for overdraft fess — first time ever — and even though I posted more funds into my account, they charged me for an additional 4 - $38 fees - based on nothing more than post dated information. There was NO MANAGMENT staff to speak to — the bank was left while the manager went on vacation with NO ONE TO MAKE decisions. I was then told to go to the “RESOLUTION”” line at Comerica Corporate - which turned out to be NONEXISTENT - they have given me the phone number to in-house technical support. They stole money from me. They will steal money from you. They do not send out statements - instead they CHARGE YOU to go online and see your information — in the age of data, they charge you to look at your account online ... Really? I thought I wanted a small local bank to run my business out of. Instead I got a small - understaffed, uninformed, useless bank that charges incredible fees for doing little to nothing. 

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
Disappointed
Anonymous

Each time I have called the customer service line, they have been NO help. My account was recently compromised and I can't get the customer service to help me with anything.

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
Stay Away From This Bank!
Catntx15
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Have had checking and savings account for over a year. I deposited a check from a company every week for almost a year with no problems. This past Monday I deposited a check from same company and Capital One froze my accounts both checking and savings to open a fraud investigation over the check I deposited. They will not give me a reason or a time frame as to when my money will be released. Once they release my money I am closing out my accounts and going to another bank.

more ...
Nov 20, 2017
Easy to get but high interest.
kf4sci
3 Contributions 11 People Helped

I’ve had an account with them for several years now. CL rapidly went from $300 to $4,500. Interest is higher than some so I don’t use it much. But for building credit it’s great! Just make payments on time & no problems.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
This bank doesn’t even deserve a 1 star
Anonymous

I have banked with numerous banks in my lifetime and worked for one for 6 years. This bank is by far the worst bank when it comes to customer service, common courtesy and customer relationships. I was in a car accident a year ago and finally received my settlement proceeds from my lawyer. I went and deposited the check in a joint account I had with my husband at US Bank. I was told because of the amount, they would need to put a hold on the check for 7 days. I was fine with this as I understood the policies and procedures that comes with check deposits. A couple of days later, I found my debit card wasn’t working and my husband realized his wasn’t either. When he called, he was told that the fraud department speculated that the check was fraud and that they were closing down all of our accounts. They did absolutely nothing to try and verify the check (which is legit.) They didn’t bother calling the bank the check was drawn on OR my lawyer to ensure that he did in fact issue this check to me. Instead, they took it upon themself to just speculate that the check was fraud and close down the accounts due to speculation, rather then verifying anything. On top of that, we weren’t notified of any of this. They were just going to close down the accounts and send us a cashier check in the mail. Because the accounts are frozen and in the process of being closed, my husband was unable to receive his direct deposit from his work, our mortgage and insurance bills have bounced and we have no access to any of our hard earned money until this is dealt with. Just save yourself the headache and find another bank to deal with your financial needs. 

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
NOT A VETERANS BANK
JLGAUSTINTX
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

Applied for an auto loan. approved and told I could borrow 110% of the value of the car.  I chose to do this as I had some credit card debt I wanted to consilidate and thought this would be a good opportunity to do so.  WELLLLLLLL they misrepresented and flat out lied.  After I signed the paperwork, I get a phone call in which they told me I was misinformed and that I could not use a cash out option on this loan. I told them, not my problem, I have a signed promisary note. They told me they would not honor it and that if I wanted to purchase the care I would have to fill out a new loan application for only the car, and oh by the way we have to pull your credit again because its a NEW APPLICATION! Are you kididng me?!!!!  They were not the lowest interest rate and they did not get my business! I head to my Federal Credit Union and will be closing my USAA accounts and membership!

more ...
Oct 31, 2017
iGoBanking is in the dark ages
psinps
1 Contributions 0 People Helped

If you are looking for an online that bank has its stuff together DON'T use iGoBanking! It must be that they are very new in online banking. Tasks that you would expect to be simple are not. Like, you can not change your debit card pin... anywhere! Not online, not on the phone, automated to speaking to a live person. The only way you can change your pin is if you find where you can send them an email online and request a new pin, and they MAIL it to you!. You can't simply change it to one of your choosing on ine! Of the many banks I have used, brick-and-morter and online, I have never heard of that! It has always been a simple automated phone call. 

There are so many other issues. They have not separated their phone cusotmer service line from their parent bank, Flushing Bank. So when you call customer service, you get Flushing Bank, even when they transfer you to iGoBanking, you may still get a Flushing customer service person who has to put you on hold and find someone who knows what is going on with iGoBanking. 

Don't be in a hurry, or even expect a normal turn-around time to open an account. Wow! it was slow! It took forever before I had my account info to make a deposit and I still had to make a customer service call because the log on steps they sent was not correct.

Make your life easy and do not use this this bank!

more ...
Results 1-25 of 104Results per page: 5 | 10 | 25Page 1 of 5   Previous | Next