First PREMIER® Bank Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 17, 2019
Good & Bad Unbiased Review
kf4sci Account Holder

I’ve had two cards with them for about 4 years. Started with a low credit limit but raises automatically a few times each year. Interest is high with processing and annual fees but Iknew that going in. Everything has been fine except that paying online is often difficult. The website is down about 1/3 the time! It also can take several days to post payments to your account. Pay at least a week early! When the website is down, call customer service and pay by telephone! Other than that, no complaints. It has been a tremendous help rebuilding my credit! So yes, it was worth the estra cost and effort.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 09, 2018
They dont care about customers!
ShayB1215 Account Holder

They will suspend your account without you knowing for stupid reasons like you are adding too much money. You will be at the register and cant make a purchase. Took them two weeks to resolve issue. I had to send verification three times so they could get it right.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 19, 2019
davidalls Account Holder

Worst company ever! They decided to suspend my account due to a misunderstanding on my part on the cash advance option for my car. I read through all of the documentation and I must’ve been in small Asterix or on the website or something because I didn’t read it but they decided to suspend my account anyways. Weeks later I have sent in multiple attempts and faxes of my documentation and verification of my Identity and they STILL Did not release my 300 limit or my 99$ program fee. Pathetic company and I have a 618 FICO. Due to all the big companies losing my data I had no other options but Stay away from this card if you can they only cause trouble and customer service for anything other than balances and typical information is useless. There’s no direct line to verification or anything. The absolute worst!

more ...
Aug 11, 2019
Snoopydog415 Account Holder

Scum bags of the earth don’t ever report my payment and has hurt my credit more that it has helped it these people are fraud stay away from them if I was able to give them 0 stars I would probably the worst customer service I have ever had the people are run and don’t know how to do their jobs 

more ...
Aug 02, 2019
Mix views
LaneB75 Account Holder

The application process was smooth and fast but DO NOT pay the $29 fee for immediate access to your credit line. This part is a scam and unnecessary. You will not have access to your credit line until you receive the card, of which you can activate yourself. The customer service representatives I spoke with could not explain why the site made it appear as though access was immediate if you paid the $29 fee, when in fact, it is not. I'm not a fan of monthly fees either but due to my credit situation at this time, this was one of the better credit card offers to get things back on track, credit-wise. I will probably not keep this card for more than a year. 

more ...
Jul 30, 2019
Con artist
Shawnboe Account Holder

A early payment isn't and on time payment! I get paid weekly and made multiple payments of more then the minimum and got hit with a late fee for not paying 30 dollars
on the exact due date.

more ...
Jul 23, 2019
Changed my due date by one day
applianceguy1234 Account Holder

They will change your due date, usually by one day like they did me to get a late fee. Have had their card for 5 years (2) cards. I had perfect record with 12 accounts and never late. Now, they ruined me. 

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
Garbage...
DaylinKnight Account Holder

Absolutely terrible. Don't use it. I've had nothing but trouble. My credit score has dropped huge amounts twice because of them. It is extremely difficult to talk to them because they rarely answer the phone, don't have a logical online way to communicate, and frequently just say to send them a letter...in 2019. I used the account that I use to pay most of my bills and it didn't work. No reason was given and they didn't tell me until a month later when I owed over $100. That number kept rising because none of my other payment methods (that I use for other bills) worked...and they did literally nothing whatsoever to help fix this problem. I have never despised a company more in my life. A 1* is beyond generous. I would go lower if I could. Complete and utter garbage. Avoid at all costs.

more ...
Jul 14, 2019
Greedy
Jersey2Georgia Account Holder

Because my name was spelled wrong on my initial card..the "a" was missing from the end of my first name, due to my last name being hyphenated. The supervisor fixed it, but refused to send me the right card, until I pay my fee, my argument was I don't mind the fee, but I didnt have to pay first when I ordered the card n got the card with the missing letter, so when I get the card with the right info, I will pay the fee, she said no..I told her that's not in the terms and conditions. If I get a wrong name I cant use my card, so I should pay money then get card when it was their fault to begin with? Nope.!!

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
The Premier Credit Card is a SCAM!
TLFord12 Account Holder

I made the mistake of obtaining this card, as the advertisement stated that it would help with poor credit, etc. However, this is one of those cards that charge extremely high interest rates as well as extraordinary fees on a MONTHLY basis. I received a $700 credit limit. I put approximately $600 on the card. I have made over $750 in payments to Premier and my balance is still just under $600. The monthly interest rate is approximately $60. With the numerous fees, the minimum monthly payment is about $140 (with a $600 balance). If you do not pay the full amount each month, Premier reports to the credit bureaus that you missed a payment. I have never missed a monthly payment, yet my credit report shows that I missed my last 3 payments. This card directly caused my credit score to drop 60 points. Please spread the word about the Premier Credit Card. I would hate to see anyone else get scammed the way I did. READ THE FINE PRINT.

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
The Premier Credit Card is a SCAM!
TLFord12 Account Holder

I made the mistake of obtaining this card, as the advertisement stated that it would help with poor credit, etc. However, this is one of those cards that charge extremely high interest rates as well as extraordinary fees on a MONTHLY basis. I received a $700 credit limit. I put approximately $600 on the card. I have made over $750 in payments to Premier and my balance is still just under $600. The monthly interest rate is approximately $60. With the numerous fees, the minimum monthly payment is about $140 (with a $600 balance). If you do not pay the full amount each month, Premier reports to the credit bureaus that you missed a payment. I have never missed a monthly payment, yet my credit report shows that I missed my last 3 payments. This card directly caused my credit score to drop 60 points. Please spread the word about the Premier Credit Card. I would hate to see anyone else get scammed the way I did. READ THE FINE PRINT.

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
Not too choosy with bad/borderline cred
PJ2012 Account Holder

Yes, they charge up front fees before you receive the card. In the housing industry this is akin to getting a junk mortgage where the lender was providing funds up front for mortgages that should not have been written.  Hence, FP charge higher rates and also a monthly rate.

My limit is $1000.  My first bill was $20 before I received the card.  However, the payment was due after I got the card.

My only complaint with FP is the length of time between taking payment from the bank and making that credit available.  I'm at 2 weeks right now and while the balance shows accurately, the available credit is not updated.

It's not them, it's me with my credit.  Get better credit, see FP go away.  It's really that simple.  I'm not there yet.  Soon!!

more ...
Jul 03, 2019
HORRIBLE
KRUIZ8285 Account Holder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!! This card was fine in the beginning UNTIL the app stops working-you can't log on you can click to get a new password sent to you and you will never get a link to reset your password and good luck on getting somone on the phone. This made me fall behind on payments and the thing is I WANT TO PAY THEM AND I CAN'T LOG ON!!!! I fell behind on payments and it dropped my credit score immensly. I got a letter in the mail with steps on how to pay on an overcharged card and guess what the steps on the paper do not match the steps on the site.. the steps that they have aren't even an option!!! I'm on the phone with someone right now who has a huge attitude talking to me like I don't know how to follow directions and she went on the website and saw for herself that they steps aren't even an option online!! I've been on hold now for 20 minutes!!! STAY AWAY!! TO FIX CREDIT CHOOSE A CAPITAL ONE OR CREDIT ONE CREDIT CARD THEY HAVE BEEN GREAT.

more ...
Jul 04, 2019

You can seriously call and make a payment over the phone if you “REALLY” wanted to pay. Stop making excuses for your own ineptitude

 
Jul 17, 2019

Both Capital One and Credit One are similar and just as bad.

 
Jul 02, 2019
shadow049 Account Holder

no problemas of yet and i have had this card a year now

more ...
Jul 02, 2019
shadow049 Account Holder

read before you apply for this card i have never had any problem with this card had it a year now

more ...
Jun 17, 2019
Good
Jaymiemmm Account Holder

Ive had this card for 4 months and only use it some, but so far eveythings going great. Builidng my credit has never been so easy as soon as i hit my 6th month im going to apply for a real credit card. This card has boosted my credit score 130 points. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2019
Ok starter card
mtankesly Account Holder

So I've spent the past year cleaning up my credit agressively (by myself, no credit repair places) and got to a point that almost everything bad is off, and only my car payment (which is stupid high right now) is reporting positively. I haven't used credit cards in over 10 years, so I figured it was time to apply. I know it's going to be "bad" cards that I qualify for at first, but here's to hoping that using this one minimally will help. The interest rate is outrageous, but again, I know that's just part of the consequences of having damaged my credit. Yes, they require you to pay a "deposit" of sorts, but again, it's an unsecured card, and one of the few I qualified for. I'm a little annoyed about their yearly fee, which was $100 and has been taken from my available credit, and I had to pay a $95 fee to open the card. I did speak to a rep over the phone and honestly she was very helpful. I work for a credit card company and knew what questions to ask, and she had an answer for every one of them, the one she didn't know she was honest about, researched and found me the right answer. I'll see how I feel about this card in a year. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 10, 2019

Run this absolutely the worst card you could ever get. High interest rates, poor customer service and high monthly fee you have to pay even when you don’t use the card smh

 
Jun 01, 2019
RIPOFF ALERT!! NOT A LEGITIMATE CARD!!!!
TLFord12 Account Holder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!! This Comany Will Rip You Off!!! This is one of those bogus companies that know they are not going to keep you beyond the first bill, so they will RIP YOU OFF for everything they can, right off the bat!! This is NOT A LEGIMATE CREDIT CARD!!! This "company" charges interest on each individual charge at the highest rate imaginable, each month! YOU WILL LOSE ALOT of MONEY!!! If you are contemplating getting one the these "credit cards", please contact me first. I have some oceanfront property in Arizona that will be just perfect for you!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 10, 2019

Ocean front property in Arizona lol 😂

 
Jun 01, 2019
Complete fraud! Total scam!
TracyLynch Account Holder

Take your deposit and won't give it back when account is closed

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 04, 2019

It’s not a deposit. It’s a program fee. Clearly you don’t read.

 
May 24, 2019
Predatory Lender
DELTA9ONLINE Account Holder

Keep asking to increase Credit Limit without telling increased percentage rate which can be as high as 36%.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 04, 2019

It says in the terms and conditions very clearly that the fee for a limit increase is 25%

 
May 22, 2019
They are rip off artists!
MoiRoseabelle Account Holder

They have bad customer service! They high interested rates! I knew I should've passed on them. Many credit card options better than this trash company!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 23, 2019

You knew what you were signing up for in the terms and conditions 😂 but let me guess you didn’t bother to read them. Because that’s totally a smart thing to do. As for customer service, you can’t call into a company screaming and being rude and expect them to treat you like royalty snowflake. Your only one customer of millions. They don’t care if they lose your business.

 
May 22, 2019
This company shows it doesn’t care.
Kspice21 Account Holder

1.) The credit card that thinks it’s a debit card. It always asks for my pin. My guess is in an attempt to charge me cash advance fees.

2.) Horrendous app. You can’t even call it an app because it’s just a website and it’s nearly impossible to use at this point.

3.) High fees. There are way better options out there for poor credit.  

I’m cancelling this card once I pay the balance. I’m done using this and don’t care if it hurts my score (it’s one of my oldest cards). Not worth keeping though. I haven’t had to talk to customer service but I have read the horror stories. Just get a different card.

more ...
May 22, 2019
Terrible
TracyLynch Account Holder

If I could give a no star that wouldn't even start to explain this nightmare! The list of the problems is below:

They froze the account because I over paid the payment they wanted on my statement.

They froze the account because "I made to many payments in one month."

When I complained about the problems I had they closed my account.

I requested my deposit back and they said it would be 90 days.

Called back to check on the process was told that it would be returned to my account within 5 days.....two weeks later it is still not been returned.

Called again and was told that I had to send a fax to request my money back which I have done and the money still has not been returned.

Asked to speak with supervisors.....Got no where.

Asked for a call back from a manager and they say that it will be 24-48 hours. I have asked many times and still have yet to get call back.

They were quick to take my money and now they are basically coming up with every excuse on not returning it. I would NEVER suggest that anyone do business with this company.

more ...
May 17, 2019
Allows other people to access to your in
Robertg0065 Account Holder

This company allowed someone to change my name and other info. And no one would help. They allow identity theft and want you to jump through hoops to correct the problem they caused or allowed to happen. Would not even apply. Very overrated. They only care about you making your payment. And nothing more.

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Worst Credit Card Company Ever
whaler200 Account Holder

I got this card to allow my daughter (named on account on her card) to use for small expenses.  Every time I pay off the card they post the payment usually within a day or two but NEVER change the available credit.  WIth a small credit line (on purpose) this is ridiculous.  You can NEVER get anyone on the phone and you must submit your concern on their site online.  5 days later they respond.  Closing this account and going with a better card.

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY

more ...
Apr 01, 2019
They don't treat me like a human.
JeremiahDaryl89 Account Holder

Rude and condescending. Terrible customer service. Judging customers who need to move payments around. They never treated me with any respect. I'm a human being, but they treated me like trash. Unwilling to understand my situation. Screw them.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations